Travel Policies and Documents

Please contact Rachel Rowe at 912.279.5745 or Chastity Knowles at 912.279.5752 in the Business Office if you have any questions.

October 2016 Changes!

Effective 10/1/2016 the following changed have been implemented.

  • Employees attending a conference, meeting, or other organized event are required to submit an official schedule or agenda that includes the dates of the event and any meals provided with their travel expense report to ensure compliance with travel policy.
  • When meals are provided to an employee in conjunction with travel events on a travel departure or return day, the full meals per diem reimbursement rate is reduced by the amount of the provided meal(s) after the 75% proration. For example, if the per diem allows a $28 total reimbursement, and lunch was provided at no cost on a travel departure or return day, the total allowable reimbursement for that day would be $14 [$28 *.75= $21 less $7 lunch = $14.00].
  • New Travel Expense form must be used immediately. Travel form has been updated as of October 1, 2016.
  • Direct Deposit will be implemented for all employee reimbursements.

Important Travel Reminders

A Travel Authorization must be on file in the Business Office for all trips prior to the day of departure.

Travel Expense Statements must be submitted to the Business Office within 45 calendar days of the date of return. Expenses submitted in excess of 60 calendar days WILL NOT be reimbursed.

All employees traveling on State business are expected to be familiar with the Georgia State Travel Policy and the Board of Regents Travel Policy. Please reference these documents BEFORE you travel. Only expenses that follow policy will be reimbursed.

All in-state travel meal per diems must follow the Georgia In-State Per Diem Rates, NOT the rates listed for Georgia in the Out of State Domestic Per Diem Rates, these are to be used for travel outside of Georgia only.

For overnight trips, traveler will receive 75% of allowable per diem on day of departure and return regardless of depart and return times minus the full amount of any provided meals. An employee may receive 100% of the meal per diem for single day travel, if gone for more than twelve hours and travel more than 50 miles from their residence and primary work station.

Out-of-state per diem rates no longer include the $5 incidental expense (IE). Rather, actual incidental expenses will be reimbursed separately for both in-state and out-of-state travel. “Incidental expenses” for travel purposes have been clearly defined within the policy.

Travelers are to make hotel reservations directly with the hotel property as opposed to using online travel sites like Expedia or Travelocity. Using these services, you are not guaranteed to have taxes waived which could result in non-reimbursable expenses. Furthermore, on-line services such as VRBO and Homeaway are not allowable. Utilization of a private residence is prohibited as per Section 3.1 of the State Travel Policy.

The State of Georgia Certificate of Exemption of Local Hotel/Motel Excise Tax form has been updated and is attached below. Per the Transportation Funding Act of 2015, effective July 1, 2015 hotels in the state of Georgia will charge a $5.00 per room per night hotel tax to travelers. This tax is not exempted for State Employees and is reimbursable. When paying for lodging with personal funds, you are only exempt from the Local Hotel/Motel (or OCC) Excise Tax, you MUST provide the exemption form to the hotel in order for the tax to be removed. You will be reimbursed for State tax and the new $5.00 tax. Please check your bill for accuracy before leaving.

Car rentals are not to be direct billed to the College without prior approval, direct bill vehicle rentals are reserved for large groups and/or financial hardships. State tax is not reimbursable on vehicle rentals, please make sure you are not charged State tax.

Airline tickets may be direct billed to the College by contacting The Travel Service on St. Simons Island at (912) 638-6888. A Travel Authorization must be on file. No tickets that are purchased directly by the traveler will be reimbursed before the trip. All travel expenses are reimbursed at one time after returning.

For air travel, reimbursement for only one (1) checked bag is allowable. If additional baggage is needed for business purposes, the business purpose must be explained. Receipts are required for reimbursement of baggage fees.

Business Class flights are reimbursable for international travel only when a non-stop portion of the flight exceeds 10hrs.

All reimbursements must include ORIGINAL ITEMIZED RECEIPTS; a customer's copy of a charge slip is NOT an itemized receipt.

Travel expense reimbursements will be processed via direct deposit (form below). Please note that the expenses direct deposit sign up is different from your payroll direct deposit. You must complete the form below to have your travel reimbursements electronically deposited into your bank account. This is a one time set-up, however, you must inform Business Services of any changes in bank account and/or mailing address information.

Important Mileage Reimbursement Requirements

Additional requirements implemented for mileage reimbursement for personal vehicle.
  • Employees traveling on State business must use a temporary fleet vehicle, if available.
  • If a temporary fleet vehicle is not available, state employees must choose the least expensive option between a rental vehicle or mileage reimbursement for use of their personal vehicle. Rental Cars should be used when it is determined that it is the most economical form of transportation.
  • To determine the most cost effective means of ground transportation, refer to the car rental cost calculator form (link below). Form MUST accompany ALL mileage reimbursements
  • Any mileage reimbursement that does not include the car rental cost calculator form, or the form indicates that rental vehicle would be more cost effective and personal motor vehicle is used, the employee will be reimbursed for business miles based on the tier 2 rate which is currently 0.17 per mile.
  • You may reserve a car directly from the link on the car rental cost calculator form. It is quick and easy. You will pay for the car when you pick it up and seek reimbursement for it with your travel expenses. Car rentals are not to be direct billed to the College without prior approval, direct bill vehicle rentals are reserved for large groups and/or financial hardships. State tax is not reimbursable on vehicle rentals, please make sure you are not charged State tax.
  • Mileage between Main and Camden Campus are excluded from the car rental cost calculator requirement. It has been predetermined that it is most economical to reimburse personal mileage for travel between campuses.

All Mileage/Travel reimbursement must meet the following criteria

  • Office and Home addresses must be completed at the top of the Expense Statement.
  • Daily personal commute miles from residence to work (one-way) MUST be filled in.
  • Dates AND times must be completed in the meal sections.
  • When completing the Personal Vehicle Mileage section, the following rules apply.
    • Origin/Destination must specify either Home, Main, or Camden (or other specific location if traveling away from campus)
    • Commute (and personal if any) miles MUST be entered when not leaving or returning directly to and from Campus.
    • Employees should use methods such as Google maps or MapQuest to calculate actual travel distances. A copy of the results must be attached.
    • Car rental cost calculator form MUST be included in all mileage reimbursements except for mileage between campuses.


Travel Documents:

powered by finalsite