College of Coastal Georgia News

Johnson and Scott Are Finalists for National Award
Posted 05/17/2019 03:54PM

Two of the five finalists named for the 2019 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol are members of the Mariners Men's Golf team. Coastal Georgia's Mark David Johnson and Eli Scott are finalists for the award, which will be presented on May 30 at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio. The award will be presented by the award's namesake, golf legend Jack Nicklaus. Athletics Logo

The Jack Nicklaus Award is presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA. The award was established in 1988.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the NAIA winner will compete with other divisional winners on Saturday, June 1 in the in the Barbasol Shootout. The winner of the Shootout will earn an exemption into the PGA TOUR's Barbasol Championship, to be held in July.

In April, Johnson was named Coastal Georgia's men's student-athlete of the year as well as The Sun Conference Player of the Year, having won three tournaments this year as well as two second-place finishes.

Scott was named All-Sun Conference. He won the prestigious Battle at Primm and Coastal Georgia's dual versus Saint Joseph's (ME). He also eared two second-place finishes during the season.

Original source:

powered by finalsite