Coronavirus (COVID-19) campus updates

News Archives

School of Business Announces New Departments
Posted 05/11/2020 12:00PM

To accommodate new growth, the School of Business and Public Management at the College of Coastal Georgia has organized its academic programs into three main departments that will continue to help with effective instruction and career preparation for students.

The following departments now compose the School of Business and Public Management:

  • Department of Criminal Justice, Public Policy & Management, chaired by Dr. Heather Farley.
  • Department of Business Administration and Health Informatics, chaired by Ms. Lee McKinley.
  • Department of Hospitality, Tourism, and Culinary Arts, chaired by Dr. Tyra Warner.

Dr. Skip Mounts, dean of the School of Business and Public Management, said the creation of the departments was done to promote organizational efficiency and to better serve students. Currently, the School offers seven bachelor's degrees with concentrations, an associate's degree in Culinary Arts, and a proposed Bachelor of Science in Accounting.

"As a result, the School of Business and Public Management is a very complex organization," Mounts said. "Department chairs can give focused leadership in selected areas that enhances student advising, program development, and best practices. All of this can only help our students to succeed and recruit new students."

The changes are effective immediately.

powered by finalsite