News Archives

Student Affairs Leadership Awards announced
Posted 04/22/2016 04:11PM

BRUNSWICK, GA - College of Coastal Georgia Vice President for Student Affairs, Dr. Jason Umfress announced the 2016 Student Affairs Leadership Awards on Thursday night at the College of Coastal Georgia Campus Center's Stembler Theatre. Along with the annual honors bestowed on students, six graduating seniors were inducted as the inaugural class of the CCGA Student Hall of Fame.

Following is a list of the 2016 Student Affairs Leadership Award winners and Student Hall of Fame inductees:

2015 – 2016 Student Affairs Leadership Award Winners

Rising Star Leader Award – Angel Wright

Rising Star Student Organization Award – The Mock Trial & Debate Club

Mariner's Pride Award – Stephanie Adams, Robert M. Mydell

Outstanding Service Award (Individual) Kimberly Mandeville, (Organization) Converge

Student Organization of the Year – Converge

Educational/Multicultural Program of the Year Award – BEHOPE, sponsored by Converge

Unsung Hero Award – Malika Mosely

Non-Traditional Student of the Year – Erina Bista

Resident Assistant of the Year – Margaret Maloof

Striving for Excellence Award – Hillary Ahl

SGA Senator of the Year – Britney Healton

Student Employee of the Year – Idorico Sebastiao

Career Development Award – Stephanie Adams

Overboard Entertainment Programmer of the Year – Brian Walsh

Camden Activity Board Programmer of the Year – Briana May

Volunteer of the YearAshma Sapkota

The Crow's Nest Commitment Award – Savannah Barrow

Mariner Recreation Staff Member of the Year – Janne Tullius

CCGA Student Hall of Fame 2016 Inductees

Hannah E. Carmichael

Hannah is an Interdisciplinary Studies major. She has been listed on the President's and Dean's List, received the Rose and HOPE scholarships, and is a member of Phi Theta Kappa. Hannah is a founding member of the CCGA Writing Center and has worked in the Center since January 2012. She has been an SGA Senator, participated in a number of beach cleanups, and has volunteered as a children's choir director at Lighthouse Baptist Church.

Jessica Fujimoto

Jessica is a Business Administration major. She has been an active member of the Women's Volleyball team since her freshman year. She was named to the SSAC All-Academic Team her junior and senior year, a Daktronics Scholar Athlete and SSAC Champion of Character in 2015 and Class Captain both junior and senior year. She was listed on the President's list, served on the SGA Executive Board, received the 2014 Unsung Hero Award and 2015 Outstanding Service Award. Jessica has volunteered at Habitat for Humanity and is a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Jennifer Jenkins

Jennifer is a Biology Sciences major on the Coastal Ecology track who has served on the Biology Club leadership for two years, worked as a Supplemental Instructor, and served on the Campus Tree Committee since its inception. Jennifer has received numerous academic awards including "Outstanding Service Learning Student", "Outstanding Junior in Biological Sciences", several scholarships and five semesters on the President's List. Jennifer leadership, service and academic excellence earner her a spot in the CEMITURE Research summer program in Summer 2015 where she was honored in two competitions and Named EMINENT scholar at the 42nd NOPBCChE Conference with presented work. Jennifer has served as a volunteer with the Math and Science Expo, Coastfest, SALTex and MAP International.

Robert Mydell

Robert is a Public Affairs major. He has been listed on the Dean's List, served as president of the Student Government Association and was a member of the Urban Gaming Club, Espanola de la Costa and Overboard Entertainment. Robert was named the Student Employee of the Year in 2015 and has been a five time recipient of the Compass Award. Throughout his time at Coastal Georgia, he also served as a Blue Crew Leader, Orientation Leader and a Presidential Student Ambassador.

Kara Neisen

Kara is a Health Informatics major. She has been listed on the President's and Dean's list. She received the Dunn Endowment scholarship. Kara is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Golden Key Honour Society and the Health Informatics Association and served as SGA Senator her sophomore year. Kara worked for The Crow's Nest Newspaper for two years as the Web Editor and currently serves as the Advertising Manager. Kara has accumulated over 250 hours of community service at Coastal Georgia. Kara's accolades for Women's Volleyball are numerous; highlights include three SSAC All-Conference selections, team MVP (2013), SSAC All-Academic selection 2012-15. She was also named a captain junior and senior years and finished her career as the record holder in four statistical categories.

Stephanie Scott

Stephanie is non-traditional, Health Informatics major. She has been listed on the President's and Dean's List, received the Rose and PELL scholarships. She is the Vice President of the Golden Key Honour Society, served on the President's Student Advisory Council, Treasurer of the Health Informatics Association, and SGA senator her sophomore year. Although Stephanie is the mother of two elementary school children and a Girl Scout Troop Leader, she maintained a full class load and achieved honors each semester.


2016 College of Coastal Georgia Student Hall of Fame Class. (LtoR) Student Hall of Fame Inductees: President Gregory Aloia, Robert Mydell, Hannah Carmichael, Kara Neisen, Jennifer Jenkins , Stephanie Scott and Jessica Fujimoto, Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Jason Umfress

For Immediate Release
April 22, 2016
Contact: John Cornell
(o) 912-279-5703
(c) 912-506-7192

powered by finalsite