News Archives

College of Coastal Georgia Salutes Student Scholars in Annual Honors Day Program
Posted 04/15/2016 04:30PM

Brunswick, GA – Kara Neisen was not expecting any awards as she attended honors just three weeks ahead of graduation. So the senior from Bloomington, Ill. was a surprised as any in the auditorium full of College of Coastal Georgia students, faculty, staff, family, and friends when Dr. Skip Mounts announced her as the Outstanding Student in Health Informatics.

"I was really surprised. It is such an honor to be recognized," said Neisen. "I owe so much of my success to the faculty here at Coastal. They are experts in their field, but they also take a personal interest their students. Their investment in us makes learning so much easier. I am truly humbled by this award and grateful to be part of such a wonderful community."

After graduating this upcoming May, Neisen will he heading north to Atlanta where she has accepted a position as an IT Analyst with State Farm Insurance.

Neisen's award was one of many earned at the annual honors day celebration at the College of Coastal Georgia.

"Today is a celebration of all of the hard work these students have put in this year, and for many, over the past four years," said Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Tracy Pellett. "It is a reaffirmation of the College vision and a testament to the quality of our faculty and students."

Honors Day Award Winners:

  • Amanda Pierson and Alexis Darby Bell each received the President's Award for Excellence.
  • Brandon Jones and Lisa L. Haviland each received a President's Choice Scholarship.
  • Erica Davis and Danh Pham each received the Vice President for Academic Affairs Award for Excellence
  • Miranda King received the Georgia Outstanding Scholar Award.
  • Kemp Randal Denison received the W.H. and Madeline Bloodworth Memorial Scholarship.

The individual schools within the College recognized students in each discipline:

Crystal Anderson, Outstanding Student, Radiologic Science

Alexis Darby Bell, President's Award for Excellence

Shawn Michael Boatright, Outstanding Student, Public Management

Rachel Brand, Outstanding Rising Senior, Coastal Ecology

Amy Bryant, Outstanding Senior, Middle Grades Education

Thomas Alexander Courson, Outstanding Student, Psychology

Sarah Crumbley, Outstanding Student, Hospitality Management

Erica Davis, Vice President for Academic Affairs Award for Excellence

Kemp Randal Denison, W.H. and Madeline Bloodworth Memorial

Jason Dominici, Outstanding Rising Senior, Biological Sciences - Pre-Professional

Eleni Efaw, Outstanding Senior, Early Childhood Special Education

Lusine Flake, Outstanding Student, Associate of Science in Nursing

Amanda Renee Graw, Marquess Psychology Award

Lisa L. Haviland, Outstanding Student, American Studies

Lisa L. Haviland, President's Choice Scholarship

Nichole Herrin, Outstanding Student, Social Studies

Derek Michael Jackson, Outstanding Student, American Studies

Jennifer Elizabeth Jenkins, Outstanding Senior, Biological Sciences - Coastal Ecology

Brandon Jones, President's Choice Scholarship

Tiffany Dyann Jones, Outstanding Senior, Pre-Professional

Miranda King, Georgia Outstanding Scholar

Briana Micaela Kummer, Outstanding Student, Clinical Lab Technology

Jedidiah O. Lindborg, Outstanding Senior, Mathematics

Donna L. Madray, Outstanding Student, Business

Stephen Poblete Morga, Outstanding Business Intern

Robert Mydell, Outstanding Student, Criminal Justice

Kara Nicole Neisen, Outstanding Student, Health Informatics

Danh Pham, Vice President for Academic Affairs Award for Excellence

Amanda Pierson, President's Award for Excellence

Charlie Postell, Outstanding Junior, Middle Grades Education

Skye Pullen, Outstanding Student, Art

Zachery Roland, Outstanding Student, Culinary Arts

Jessica Sellars, Outstanding Student, Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Allison Nicole Shannon, Outstanding Junior, Early Childhood Special Education

Lyle Eugene Strait, Outstanding Student, Humanities

Amanda Louise Surman, Outstanding Senior, Pre-Professional

Additionally, sixty-two students received certificates for earning over 30 hours of credit with a grade point average (GPA) of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Faculty received special recognition as well: Dr. Holly Nance, Assistant Professor of Biology, was recognized as Professor of the Year. Todd Trulock, Instructor of English, was recognized as the Part Time Professor of the Year. The awards were presented by the CCGA chapter of the Golden Key International Honour Society and are based on student nominations. Ms. Cynthia Atwood, Lecturer of Criminal Justice and Dr. Sarah Hartman, Assistant Professor of Education were also recognized as the Academic Advisors of the Year.

PHOTO: Kara Neisen with College of Coastal Georgia President Dr. Gregory F. Aloia.

For Immediate Release
April 15, 2016
Contact: John Cornell
(912) 279 5703

powered by finalsite