If you are at least 16 years of age and have a valid driver’s license from your home country, you do not need a Georgia driver’s license as long as you are a registered student in a Georgia institution and you have paid your tuition for the semester in which you are registered. If you decide to use your home country driver’s license, it is recommended that you carry the following while driving:
- Your non-U.S. driver’s license
- Your student ID card or proof of registration at the College of Coastal Georgia
- Proof of payment of your tuition to the College of Coastal Georgia
- A copy of Georgia code 40-5-21(b) O.C.G.A.
The specific law can be found on page 147 of Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) athttp://www.grsp.org/pdf/StudentHandbook/GeorgiaDriversLicense.pdf
(b) Notwithstanding any contrary provisions of Code Section 40-5-20 or subsection (a) of this Code section, a nonresident of this state who is attending a school in this state shall be exempt from the driver’s licensing requirements of this chapter if and only if:
1. He or she is at least 16 years of age and has in his or her immediate possession a valid license issued to him or her in his or her home state or country; provided, however, that any restrictions which would apply to a Georgia driver’s license as a matter of law would apply to the privilege afforded to the out-of-state license; and
2. He or she is currently enrolled in a school in this state, has paid for the current period of enrollment the tuition charged by the school to nonresidents of Georgia, and has in his or her possession proof of payment of such tuition for such current period of enrollment.
However, if you do wish to obtain a Georgia driver's license, please visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services "Information for non U.S. Citizens" webpage.
You can still get an official State of Georgia ID card from the Department of Driver Services. Information on how to obtain one can be found at http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/DLdata.aspx?con=1747740603&ty=dl