College Salutes Academic Achievements

Brunswick, GA Academic achievement was the prevalent theme of the annual Honors Day program Friday afternoon, April 26, in the Thomas Auditorium of the Southeast Georgia Conference Center.

Rebekah Lindborg (Brunswick) was named Academic All American Scholar by College President Valerie Hepburn and she received the President’s Award for Baccalaureate Studies. John Dikov (Brunswick) received the President’s Award for Pre-Baccalaureate Studies.

Dr. Phillip Mason, Vice President of Academic Affairs, presented awards to Justin Ford (Brunswick), Kimberly Helms (St. Marys), Tamara Peeples (Waverly), Brittany Reisch (St. Marys), and Boun Smith (Kingsland).

Johnna Floyd (Brunswick) was named Phi Theta Kappa Academic All-American.

Mark Brown (Brunswick)received the President’s Choice Scholarship for the 2013-2014 academic year. Margaret Reski-Alexander (St. Simons Island) received the W.H. and Madeline Bloodworth Memorial Scholarship.

The individual schools within the College recognized outstanding students in each discipline:

Christina Brantley (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Middle Grades Education, Senior Level
Brandon Cole (Woodbine) Outstanding Student Humanities
Elizabeth Courson (Nahunta) Outstanding Student Biology, Pre-professional
Julia Estrada (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Radiologic Science
Jessica Frazier (Townsend) Outstanding Student Student Publications
Nicole Gailey (White Oak) Outstanding Student Associate of Science, Nursing
Katelynn Henderson (Brunswick) Outstanding Business Student Intern
Maggie Ireland (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Psychology
Eric Johns (St. Simons Island) Outstanding Student Biology, Pre-professional
Kyle Jones (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Business
Kari McDonald (Kingsland) Outstanding Student Biology, Coastal Ecology
Christine Montgomery (St. Marys) Outstanding Student Early Childhood/Special Education, Junior Level
Carrie Parker (Jesup) Outstanding Student Natural Sciences
Stuart Pierson (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Mathematics
Sarah Schmidgall (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Arts
Tara Spear (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Clinical Laboratory Technology
Max Michael Stieve (Nahunta) Outstanding Student Middle Grades Education, Junior Level
Dane Teszler (St. Simons Island) Outstanding Student Bachelor of Science, Nursing
Felicia Tyler (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Health Informatics
Thomas Waldrop (Kingsland) Outstanding Student - Hospitality Management
David Warden (Brunswick) Outstanding Student Social Sciences
Teresa Wilson (Jesup) Outstanding Student Early Childhood/Special Education, Senior Level

One hundred thirteen students received certificates for earning over 30 hours of credit with a grade point average (GPA) of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Staff and faculty received special recognition as well. Dr. Charlsie Myers, Professor of the Year, Sarah Hartman, Adjunct Professor of the Year, and Larry Johnson, Advisor of the Year, were recognized. Gerald Moody in Technology Services was named 2013 Staff Member of the Year.

Release Date: 4/30/2013
Source: College of Coastal Georgia

Media Contact:
John Cornell
O: 912.279.5703
C: 912.223.9997